BreakDrink, Podcast

Happy #InternationalPodcastDay 2017!

Do you listen to any podcasts? You should. Today, September 30th, is International Podcast Day (#InternationalPodcastDay)! The other day, my @BreakDrink podcast co-host, Jeff, and I chatted about this festive holiday for podcasting as we might be fans of podcasts (listen to @BreakDrink episode no. 1). Thanks, fellow podcast hosts @Katie__Linder & @bonni2018, for reminding us about this pod holiday last week!

International Podcast Day™ is September 30th and is an international celebration of the power of podcasts!  The celebration is a great opportunity to connect with fellow podcasters, podcast listeners, podcast enthusiasts, and leaders in the podcasting industry.  Help spread the word by telling your friends, sharing the celebration on your podcasts and social media feeds, and using #InternationalPodcastDay.  There are several ways to get involved and plenty to benefit from by taking part in International Podcast Day.  See our suggestions below.  But first, we must all “Start The Conversation” and share the power of podcasts!

YOU Can TOTALLY Get Involved with #InternationalPodcastDay By:

  • Checking out the #InternationalPodcastDay to learn about podcasts worldwide or share your own!
  • Grab your mic and camera, ask someone about their favourite podcast. Share on social media!
  • Join in numerous events in your region and around the world (Use the Googles).
  • Promote by posting the official banner image on your website.
  • Play the International Podcast Day audio or video promo on your show.
  • Change your social media image to the International Podcast Day logo
  • Explain to someone what a podcast is and get them hooked (it’s harder than you think)
  • Share your favourite podcast with someone (coworker, friend, teammate)
  • Send feedback to your favourite podcasters and tell them to thank you
  • Provide a rating and review in Apple Podcasts or other platforms
  • Subscribe to a new show and talk about it using #InternationalPodcastDay
  • Not a podcaster? Become one! (or think about it)
  • Listen to the recommendations, Jeff & I give on our podcast about it here:

These are our “go to” podcasts we recommend. These are friends of the pod and podcasts we have enjoyed, so we suspect you will as well. Take a listen to these recommendations from the @BreakDrink Team (and of course, you can check out our archives as well: http://breakdrink.com/).

Take a LISTEN to our podcast show recommendations online, streaming, or via your favourite podcast catcher subscription! ENJOY!!  Pod, on my friends! POD ON!

@ WORK Website
Teaching in Higher Ed http://teachinginhighered.com/episodes/
Radical Candor https://www.radicalcandor.com/blog/tag/podcast/
Research In Action http://ecampus.oregonstate.edu/research/podcast/
You’ve Got This http://ygtpodcast.com/
The Contrafabulists http://podcast.contrafabulists.com/
Higher Ed Live http://higheredlive.com/
Code Switch http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510312/codeswitch
CBC Spark http://www.cbc.ca/radio/spark
TOPcast https://cdl.ucf.edu/category/topcast/
The Anatomy of a Book https://acdigidbook.katielinder.work/podcast/
Note To Self http://www.wnyc.org/shows/notetoself
How I Built This http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510313/how-i-built-this
@ HOME Website
Crimetown https://gimletmedia.com/crimetown/
Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me http://www.npr.org/programs/wait-wait-dont-tell-me/
Hackable https://hackablepodcast.com/
What’s Good? http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510323/whats-good-with-stretch-and-bobbito
Radiolab http://www.radiolab.org/series/podcasts/
Two Dope Queens http://www.wnyc.org/shows/dopequeens
Politically Reactive https://www.politicallyreactive.com/
My Dad Wrote a Porno http://www.mydadwroteaporno.com/
It’s Been a Minute http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510317/its-been-a-minute-with-sam-sanders
Homecoming https://gimletmedia.com/homecoming/
This American Life https://www.thisamericanlife.org/podcast
On the Media http://www.wnyc.org/shows/otm/
@ SCHOOL Website
.future http://creative.gimletmedia.com/shows/future/
99% Invisible http://99percentinvisible.org/
Freakonomics http://freakonomics.com/archive/
Hidden Brain http://www.npr.org/series/423302056/hidden-brain
Reply All https://gimletmedia.com/reply-all/
Revisionist History http://revisionisthistory.com/
IRL Podcast https://irlpodcast.org/
Undone https://gimletmedia.com/undone/
TED Radio Hour http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/
Rough Translation http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510324/rough-translation
On The Media http://www.wnyc.org/series/media-podcast
Pod Save America https://getcrookedmedia.com/here-have-a-podcast-78ee56b5a323
Planet Money http://www.npr.org/sections/money/127413729/podcast/
Sincerely, X https://www.ted.com/read/ted-podcasts/sincerely-x

Do you listen to a podcast in #highered OR other? Tell us about it: https://bit.ly/higheredpodcasts

More about our podcast project here: https://higheredpodcasts.wordpress.com/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s